Class Notes – October 2016


*indicates member of the Alumni Association


Mary Jane (Roselieve) Gately (’57) is starting her 26th year of teaching English as a second language at Literacy Volunteers of Greater Hartford, Conn.


Jim Cronin (’72)

footprints-on-the-toilet-seatJ. David Remple (D.V.M. ’72) has published Footprints on the Toilet Seat, Memoirs of a Falcon Doctor. This recounts the establishment of the world’s first falcon hospital in Dubai, UAE and the adventures of 20 years living in the Middle East.

Jason H. Silverman (M.A. ’76) has won the annual Immigrants’ Civil War Award. Silverman is a writer and a chaired professor of history at Winthrop University in South Carolina. Jason has also written a book titled, Abraham Lincoln and the Immigrant.


Eda C. Eggeman (’80) married Stephen C. Ebe on December 26, 2014, in Vancouver, Washington.  Stephen worked at CH2M Hill as an Agricultural and Civil Engineer and is retired.  Eda continues to work as an Environmental Scientist at the California Department of Fish and Wildlife in Redding California.

Laura McMarlin (’85) has been promoted to Superintendent of the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument within the US Fish and Wildlife Service. The seven atolls and islands included within the monument are father from human population centers than any other US area.


Steve Soich (M.M. ’10) is currently an Assistant Principle at Sobesky Academy, an alternative K-12 school in Jefferson County serving students with significant emotional disabilities.


C. Hunter Hughes (’13)

C. Hunter Hughes (’13) was commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant in the USAF at Maxwell Air Force Base on March 18, 2016, and is currently immersed in undergraduate pilot training at Columbus Air Force Base, Mississippi.

In Memoriam

*indicates member of the Alumni Association


Helene Grove Hayman (’34)


Peter N. Jensen (’49, ‘50)


Willis J. Holland (’56)


Robert (Bob) Barbee (B.A. ’58, M.S.’68)

*Robert (Bob) Barbee (B.A. ’58, M.S.’68)


Frank Selbe (’60)


Barbara G. Beck (M.M. ’75)

*Daniel E. Carleo (’79)

Michael P. Irvin (M.Ed. ’79)


Jane C. Henderer (’86)


Dr. Abida Taherani (Ph.D. ’95)

Jason C. Holden (’97)


Christopher W. Bieber